This game represents the end of one era and the beginning of another for the 2010 Dallas Cowboys.  In a nationally televised primetime game, Dallas got housed by the eventual Super Bowl champion Green Bay Packers 45-7.  The fact that the Packers did win the Super Bowl makes me feel not quite as bad about this loss?  Yes, I really am asking that, not saying it.

Clay Matthews scores on a pick six.

Like any fan, I try to cover for my team when they lose and have a poor showing in the process.  I try to make excuses and say it wasn’t as bad as the score would make you think, blah, blah, blah.  I have no such argument for this game, though.  I’ll admit, I didn’t actually get to see this game, but I certainly wasn’t upset about it after the fact.

I did, unfortunately, watch these highlights:

This wasn’t one of those blowout losses that hits full force from the opening kickoff.  No, this one was close for almost a full half before it started to get ugly.  There’s not much sense in going into detail about stats.  Just pick one, and it’s very likely Green Bay dominated.  This article suggests that Jones was looking for any reason to keep Phillips for at least the rest of this season, but the blowout in Green Bay left him with little choice.  A lot of factors contributed to this loss.  By this point in the year, the Cowboys were playing such sloppy football every week, that it was certainly a collective effort.  When a team loses by 38, one guy can’t take all the flak.

Dez Bryant scores a touchdown against the Packers.

About the only positive thing to take away from this game, besides getting a new coach out of the deal, which itself is still debatable, was the performance of Dez Bryant, who had nine catches, 86 yards, and the lone score for the ‘Boys.

Leading up to this game, in spite of all of the losses and bad play, Jerry Jones stood by Wade Phillips publicly.  Up to this year, the Cowboys had never made a coaching change during the season, but Jones finally bit the bullet and did what he thought was in the best interest of team.  Normally, I don’t go for firing a coach midseason, but from the perspective of allowing Jason Garrett to have an eight game tryout, it made sense.  The season was over, and what was the sense in delaying the inevitable?  It’s amazing to me how quickly things spun out of control for Phillips, who went from the hero who finally led Dallas to a playoff win for the first time in over a decade to being out of a job less than a year later.

As the Cowboys headed into the second half of the year, I didn’t really expect much.  With a new coach, who may or may not get promoted at some point, nothing was certain.  Really, nothing still is.  Who knows how Garrett will do as a head coach?  How much time will Jones give him?  A lot remains to be seen in Big D.  Going back to an article I cited earlier, Matt Mosley says about Jerry Jones what many Cowboys fans think already:  “As long as he’s in charge of football decisions, it really doesn’t matter who’s serving as head coach. Jones will inevitably do something to undermine the process.”  As for me, I like Jerry Jones for some reason that I can’t really explain.  I know he is too hands on, and some would say he meddles, but I still like him and want to see him put together a winner again.  Perhaps, though, it would be best to hire a general manager.  Maybe he needs to realize that just because he is the owner, it doesn’t mean he has to be in charge of everything.  This game apparently opened up his eyes about Wade Phillips.  Hopefully, he’ll become disillusioned about himself as well.

Record to this point:  1-7

