It’s been a full week now since I’ve made a blog post, and I apologize for that. It’s been a busy week, so I haven’t had as much time for this (that, and the free time I did have I spent putting this off). I will post the next game recap on Monday and try to get back on track.

Something I read today was an article about Jason Garrett visiting Mike Krzyzewski and the Duke Blue Devils basketball team over the past weekend.  I thought this was pretty interesting.  Garrett was able to sit in on practices and a game, and he said he was “really amazed by it. It inspired me a great deal.”

Mike Krzyzewski (left) and Jason Garrett

 

It’s not too often you’ll see a head coach, especially in the NFL, openly seek out another coach to gain insight into his abilities and strategies.  It is true (at least in college football) that coaches will interact during the offseason and “borrow” ideas from one another and that sort of thing.  But for Jason Garrett to already have a sense that he has a lot he can learn really struck me.

What made this all the more interesting was that Krzyzewski is a basketball coach.  Clearly, Garrett was looking for coaching wisdom that had absolutely nothing to do with X’s and O’s.  It was all about the way Krzyzewski conducts himself and his team and the general approach he takes as a leader.

“There is so much to learn and there is so much to benefit from to see how people who are successful do things in or out of football, in or out of sports,” Garrett said. “You can learn from it.”

I’m sure some people will be, or already have been, critical of Garrett for doing this.  Perhaps these people feel it’s tacky or that it shows a lack of ability on Garrett’s part.  This somehow “proves” that Jerry Jones made a bad decision in promoting Garrett to head coach, because he obviously doesn’t know what he’s doing.  This isn’t anything that I’ve actually read, but I imagine it’s out there.

I like what he did though.  It’s not easy for someone to admit they have shortcomings and flaws, especially someone who just landed one of the most coveted jobs in sports.  Why would Garrett have any reason to think any of this is necessary?  If you or I were about to head into a first season as the Cowboys’ head coach, we’d probably be feeling pretty good about ourselves.  He hasn’t even had a full chance to see if his ideas can work on this level, and he knows he can do better.  This is encouraging to me, and makes me feel that this coming season might not be so bad.

