Disclaimer:  This post, as the title suggests has absolutely nothing to do with the Dallas Cowboys.  It is a post about a class assignment.

Tuesday was all about Twitter.  From that point on, this week has been a tweet filled extravaganza.  I was the last holdout in my social media class to sign up for twitter, so I didn’t know what I was doing.  I still don’t, but it’s at least better than it was a few days ago.

A picture we didn't take. The Coliseum is pretty cool, though.

The scavenger hunt involved going around campus with a classmate and finding ten “items,” taking photos of them, and tweeting about what we found.  We worked in groups of two, which was fortunate for me, considering I don’t have a smart phone.  My 70+ year old uncle says he can’t live without his Droid phone, but I have one that texts and takes pictures.  Whatever.  The hunt wasn’t bad, and it was nice to get out and around campus.  The only complaint I had was it was very cold out, so escaping that to find items inside was a must.

Most of the items on the list involved mini interviews with students, professors, and whoever else was unfortunate enough to be roaming around campus at the time.  Everyone we talked to cooperated and was willing to give a quick quote and a picture.  We got some pretty good photos and saw interesting things around campus.

As for interacting with students from other schools, I put that off for a few days for a couple of reasons:

1.  As I stated already, I didn’t know what I was doing on twitter, so I didn’t want to look like a complete idiot to twitter nation by saying or doing something really stupid.  I probably still did, anyway.

2.  I didn’t know what to say.  I didn’t want to just get the assignment over with by saying something that sounded contrived.  I wanted to find photos and tweets that interested me to comment on and retweet.  Not only that, but I wanted to have good comments, and I wanted to add something decent to what was already posted.

That being said, I just finished the interactive portion of this assignment.  There were some good photos posted, and it’s neat to get a look at campuses I’ve never been to.  I was especially interested in the University of Oregon’s photos, because I’ve always wanted to visit that part of the country.  It’s interesting that we all have a shared college experience, but we’ve all gone through it in different environments.  These environments shape what we get out of college, and, in a way, this course.  It’s good to get beyond the Morgantown city limits and see what else is out there.

All in all, I’m learning how to use twitter, and with practice, I’m sure I’ll catch up to the current experts.  Now if only I had a smart phone…

P.S. I never wanted twitter because it seemed kind of pointless to me.  I thought people just used it to post a stream of consciousness about their lives.  I’m still kind of on the fence about it.  I see the value it can add when it’s used for distributing meaningful information, but I’m not sure I have anything worth tweeting about.  We’ll see, I guess.

