Something I’ve been meaning to address the last couple days is the ongoing story about the 400 or so fans who were displaced at the Super Bowl.  This strange situation continues to unfold and become more complicated as each day passes.  This blog post suggests that the NFL, the Dallas Cowboys, and Jerry Jones are all to blame in this fiasco, and in my opinion rightly so.  In a collaborative effort to put on not just a football game, but a unique experience at the grandest stadium in sports, somehow these two powers screwed up.  It’s surprising to me that the NFL allowed this to happen, as it’s not a common occurrence.  The NFL usually has everything together, so at this point I feel like this whole mess was an aberration, not necessarily a sign of things to come.

Basically, what this all comes down to is there were temporary seats being installed, that for one reason or another weren’t finished in time for the game.  How this happens, I don’t know.  It’s not like all the involved parties were told the week of the game where it was being played.  At least those who are culpable are owning up to it.  Via a post by ESPN’s Calvin Watkins on NFL executive vice president Eric Grubman’s thoughts on the situation:

“We made the best of it. We screwed it up. I can’t change that,” Grubman said. “I’m a football fan and before I worked at the Super Bowl I took my young sons and my father … to see the New York Giants and if that would have happened to me, I would be furious.”

I feel for you, Jerry.

It’s understandable that for fans who likely traveled a considerable distance to,  and paid a sizable amount of money for this game, that they would be upset.  So the NFL made an offer to those fans.  They could either receive triple face value of their ticket as a cash refund plus receive a transferable ticket to next year’s game, or they could get a non-transferable ticket for any future Super Bowl and have hotel and flight accommodations paid for by the NFL.

It’s no surprise, however, that many people chose a third option:  suing the NFL, the Dallas Cowboys, and Jerry Jones.  On top of the 400 people who didn’t get seats, over 800 others were moved around before seats were available.  Many of these people are involved in the lawsuit, as well.

In my opinion, the NFL made very good offers to these people to make up for the mistake.  This didn’t surprise me, as I fully expected the NFL to do what it could to make things right with fans.  Clearly, this wasn’t enough for most, however.  I’ve never been to a Super Bowl, and since I wasn’t there and don’t know the exact details of everyone’s experiences, this is just my two cents.  My opinion might be different had I gone through the same ordeal.

Today, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette is reporting that the NFL is now extending offers to an even larger group of people.

This has all been a big mess, and I hate that this happened at Cowboys Stadium.  The first time Dallas has gotten the Super Bowl, and all of this happens (I don’t think this will keep them from getting the Super Bowl again, but I hope they’ve learned from this situation).  Add to it the lackluster singing performances and the ever-worsening advertising the fans at home were subjected to, and the only salvageable aspect was the game itself.  Oh yeah, they played a game didn’t they?  A good one, too.  Let’s all be glad it wasn’t a blowout.  Jerry Jones has enough problems as it is.

